Book of the Month: “Soul Surfer”

My sister, Maggie, always has such great ideas for my fitness journey and for blog ideas. One of her latest ideas was to do a book of the month. I could read different health books, biographies on athletes, or books on others fitness related topics. Then write a small review, and what I thought of the book. Since I am an avid reader, this was something I wanted to just get right on. I found myself always having the book in my purse so if I had the chance I could read.

The first book I read for this was, “Soul Surfer” by Bethany Hamilton. It’s crazy because I have seen the movie, and I remember when her shark attack actually happened back in 2003 because Maggie was a huge surf fan. I’m getting ahead of myself though. Bethany Hamilton was only 13, and training to be a professional female surfer. She was attacked by a shark off the coast of Hawaii one morning, and lost almost her entire left arm. Her book chronicles what happened that day, her decision to not let that derail her dreams, and how her faith in God not only made her come back stronger, but also gave her a greater purpose after the attack. She talks about how grateful she was to Him for being with her that morning, and keeping things from being worse. Also how she couldn’t just give up on the sport she loves, though there were times she thought she would have to. Bethany says she believed after the attack God was giving her opportunities, with her interviews and appearances, to spread His true message about living a life of service and kindness to others in His name. Throughout the book the theme of unwavering faith is a main statement.

I absolutely love this book. I wish I had read it when it first came out. First off, she is an amazing athlete and didn’t let a shark (a freaking shark) stop her from achieving her goals. And that was when she was only 13 years old! She ended up going on to win surf titles, and keep her sponsor through the whole attack. Then I really admire her faith and her approach to faith. She talked about putting what she learned into action, and not just reading the Bible or going to church it’s about living it. This is something I completely agree with. Personally, I need to go to church more, I don’t go and should go with my mom and sister more. But I agree with how it goes beyond that. She best describes it with Matthew 7:24-27, and I really got inspired by her. Bethany has this overwhelming sense of purpose and kindness. Through her whole attack, she began to see how she should help others. She doesn’t see how we can live in a world where we don’t want to do God’s will in our everyday life, by helping those in need.

Overall I loved this book. At 222 pages it was a quick read, but also a very powerful read. I admire her as an athlete, and found myself thinking about my own life differently after reading it. I highly recommend it to anyone on a journey, and especially those who want to feel uplifted and inspired.

unnamed-2Anyone have book recommendations? Specifically health/fitness/athlete related. Please let me know! I am always looking for a great read.

Leave a Reply

