Still Sweatin’: Simmon’s Workouts Still Rock

With all the news of Richard Simmons missing, emerging from hiding, being hospitalized, and this and that. I wanted to write about my connection to him. I don’t know him, never met him, but I think he is one of the most important people in fitness history EVER. We can argue this, but no one can deny it. He struggled with obesity for most of his early life, and then decided he wanted to help others. The man created an empire, and even spoke in front of congress about the obesity epidemic in this country. So yeah, man knows his shit. Plus if you hear the stories, everyone who met him loves him. Every time he connected with someone he showed them genuine care and concerned, and legitimately wanted them to succeed. Let’s just say I am a big fan of Richard, anyone who can positively impact people’s lives and help them on a journey to be healthy is top-notch in my book. 
IMG_4866

I can clearly remember being little, and my parents popping in the VHS tape of “Sweatin’ to the Oldies”. They would do it, and my sister and I would join in. I was probably pretty spazzy while doing it. But I remember it was exhausting, and those people really did sweat. Then about 5 years ago, my boyfriend and I were down the shore at his family’s place. It was pouring rain. When we found a collection of those VHS tapes, and my face lit up. I had to do one, and so that was my workout that day. It was still quite the workout. I even tweeted about it, and Richard Simmons tweeted me back. That’s right! I would brag about this for YEARS.
IMG_4314

So in honor of the recent resurgence of Richard in the news, I decided to do another one of those workouts again to see if it still makes me sweat. I did it right after work, and I decided to do it full-out. I danced, jumped, and even sang along to the whole workout at my full energy. It was such a fun workout, and I have to admit I broke a sweat. It made me realize even more that it’s what you put into a workout that makes it work. My husband sat and watched me, laughing at some of the sweet sweet 80’s workout attire. I don’t think this will be the last time I am sweating with Richard.
IMG_4918

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I did one a few years ago and it was HARD. I couldn’t keep up the first time I did it.

    I am fangirl dying inside that he tweeted you back.

    Like

    1. bshanbefit says:

      Oh my god! I kid you not I was screaming!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

